Elvis

16 Aug

Hope you enjoy the above video. The Comeback Special is my favorite Elvis thing EVER. He’s at the top of his game, he looks amazing, he sounds amazing, and, other than that, two words: black leather. 🙂

Alright, so today’s Elvis post probably won’t be anything special. The media has gone almost overboard in covering today, the 30th anniversary of the King’s death, and I really don’t think there’s anything new I could bring to the table.

So, let’s discuss my favorite Elvis songs, and you can tell me about your favorites, and we can celebrate him that way. (p.s., anyone else get the feeling that this day is becoming a national holiday? I say we start getting a day off work, let the kiddies get out of school…)

OK. Songs.

“One Night” is one of my favorite Elvis songs. It’s super-sexy and raw, and he delivered it perfectly. I like “Heartbreak Hotel” for the same reason.

I think a lot about “Burning Love.” I’m not sure what it is about that song, but it just sounds so incredibly contemporary, like it was jut made. “Burning Love” feels like it’s light years ahead of its time. “Little Sister” is the same way — it’s so tight and together, a very well-made song.

Another one like those two is “(Marie’s the Name) His Latest Flame.” For the longest time I technically didn’t like that song, but I respected it. It’s just so out of this world. I like it now – I probably rock out to it more than almost any other song — but it took a while to wrap my head around it.

The melodramatic in me loves, worships and adores “It’s Now or Never.” It just feels so insane and it’s a fun song to hear. “Viva Las Vegas” has the same feel.

“An American Trilogy” is another favorite, because I really respect his performance of it. Elvis was, more than anything else, a Southern man, and he is the ultimate Southern man when he sings this song. And if you don’t weep when he sings “Hush, little baby, don’t you cry/You know your daddy’s bound to die/But all my trials, Lord/Will soon be over,” then you possibly have no soul.

“Suspicious Minds,” though, is THE ultimate Elvis song. It is absolutely perfect in every way. End of discussion.

So, those are my favorites. Tell me yours, it’ll be a big Elvis fest here at Scene Now.

By the way – for the most part, I haven’t been THAT impressed by what a lot of the major media outlets have done for our dear boy, but I do like what Rolling Stone’s done. Check it all out here.

Leave a Reply

