Buffy musings

9 Aug

Today it’s a case of the Post-post Justin Timberlake Blues. Still feeling kinda tired, so I’m really glad today is like my Friday.

Not much is going on, and to be honest, the only thing I’m thinking about right now is whether or not I should continue on with my “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” marathon. We’re talking Joss Whedon and Buffy today, folks – hang on to your stylish-yet-affordable boots.

I’ve been a fan of “Buffy,” and its creator, Whedon, since day one. And, honestly, one of the most important things you need to know about me is that I’m a huge “Buffy” fan. I randomly quote it all too often (I’m sure you can spot the one in the second graf) and I really, really, REALLY want to stage a sing-along here in NEMiss.

So about a month ago, I felt the urge to watch season 4’s second episode, “Living Conditions.” I managed to skip around any sad Oz eps, just because I think I’m still sort of in denial over what happened there, but I watched everything else  (I did watch, however, “New Moon Rising,” because that whole final scene is so romantic). “The Harsh Light of Day” is a favorite from that season, as is “Pangs” and “Something New.”

Now that season 4 is over, naturally, I want to move on to season 5. Thing is, I really kind of don’t like season 5. That’s when Dawn is at her Dawniest, the whole Joyce thing saddens me greatly, Glory is annoying and, frankly, Ben isn’t attractive enough to hold my interest (gah, that was a bratty sentence). I’ll probably watch “The Replacement” (two Xanders? Oh yeah) and a few others, but that’s about it.

I’m pretty sure I’m just going to skip forth unto season 6. I liked the premiere well enough, but “After Life” is an amazing ep. Besides the musical, “Life Serial” is my favorite episode of the season (for this reason and this reason alone: “Yes. Then I’m going to marry Bob Dole and raise penguins in Guam.”) Of course, I LOVE the whole Spike-Buffy relationship. That was a dream come true.

Of course I’ll go from there to season 7. I like the whole empowered feeling of that season, despite the fact that Buffy and the potentials get killed or the mess kicked out of them on a pretty regular basis. “Conversations with Dead People” scares the life out of me (I only watch it during the daytime, I’m not kidding), but it is nothing short of brilliant. What happens to Jonathan is amazingly sad, but Andrew screaming, “THAT’LL DO PIG!” almost makes up for it somehow. And the season 7 — and series — finale? Wow. Best line of the whole show: “I want to see how it ends.”

Then, I’ll probably start all over again. Thanks, Scene Now readers — you just helped me iron out my marathon.

What do you think? What are your favorite seasons, episodes, characters?

In other Joss news…

The Onion’s AV Club posted a really cool interview w/ the man himself yesterday.

So the Sci-Fi Channel is airing an eight-episode marathon of “Firefly” Friday. Spending eight hours of my day off watching Mal and the gang? I’m sooo there.

2 Responses to “Buffy musings”

  1. Lonesome Rhodes August 9, 2007 at 8:57 pm #

    I concur. “Buffy” really hit its (her) stride in the second season, which continued through the third and fourth. By this time, Angel and Cordelia were way gone as were Oz, Eliza Dushku and basically the integrity of the show. I mean, we got Faith for just 20 episodes and Oz for 40. What?!
    The whole lesbian witch syndrome with Willow was just boring. “Buffy the Musical?” Right on…….
    Joss Whedon directed one of my favorite “Office” episodes. He rocks……

  2. obsessmuch August 10, 2007 at 6:05 pm #

    Hey, we absolutely love your blog! we’re new to wordpress but we would like to add your site as a link! maybe you could place us as a link also…

    well check it out anyway

    http://obsessmuch.wordpress.com

    kind regards

Leave a Reply

