Post-Justin Timberlake Blues

8 Aug

So, my mama was right.  (I’m so fighting the urge to finish that sentence with, “there’s blues in the night.” I heart you, Johnny Mercer)
She predicted that my Monday night Justin Timberlake fun would really hit hard not Tuesday, but today. Yep. I’m yawning about every minute, and I just can’t get my mind focused enough to do research for my afternoon interviews. Whoops.

So it’s playlist time.  The “I’ve got the Post-Justin Timberlake Blues” playlist.  Here are a few songs that shook me awake this morning. If you’ve got the blues, these may wake you up, too.

Post-Justin Timberlake Blues Playlist
“Gimme Some Lovin'” – The Spencer Davis Group (yeah, I heart you too, Steve Winwood)
“I Can’t Decide” – Scissor Sisters
“Misery Business” – Paramore
“Love Man” – Otis Redding
“Spoon” – Cibo Matto
“Shoplifters of the World Unite” – The Smiths
“Bodies” – The Smashing Pumpkins
“Hella Good” – No Doubt
“Summer Love” – Justin Timberlake (hair o’ the dog)
“Dashboard” – Modest Mouse
“That Beat” – Amy LaVere
“Smile Like You Mean It” – The Killers
“If You Leave” – OMD
“Bingo” – M.I.A.
“Gronlandic Edit” – Of Montreal
“This is How I Disappear” – My Chemical Romance
“Who Do You Think?” – Interpol
“Green River” – Creedence Clearwater Revival
“Don’t Drink Poison” – Le Tigre
“The Gooch” – The Cooters
“Suite-Pee” – System of a Down
“I’m Waiting For the Day” – The Beach Boys
“Papa Don’t Preach” – Madonna
“Gypsy” – Fleetwood Mac

And there you have it.  There are more, but I’ll stop at 25. Don’t want to, you know, overdo it or anything.

OK. Honorable mentions.
“Longview” -Green Day
“The Pretender” – Jackson Browne (technically I really only listen to this song when I’m driving, so it doesn’t do me much good here at the office. I usually turn it up so loud you can hear it a couple counties away, and I think my fellow Journalites would get mad if I tried that on a Wednesday morning. Still, I want to mention it anyway, because I love it so).
“Long Cool Woman (In a Black Dress)” – the Hollies (I used to clog to that song a lot. But now I mostly turn it up very loudly in my car, but not as loudly as “The Pretender.” But it always gets me going).
“Settin’ the Woods on Fire” – Hank Williams
“Never Let Me Go” – Family Force 5

Leave a Reply

