Harry Potter!

12 Jul

M. Scott Morris will review “Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix” in next week’s Scene, so I won’t say much about it on here.
Besides, either you’re going to see it or you’re not, so what I have to say really won’t make much of a difference. I will say this, though: It was really great, and Ralph Fiennes rocks my face off.

Music o’ the day

Normally in this section I’ll just write about one song, but this time I’ll dedicate it to a whole slew of songs. Allow me to explain…see, some friends and I took in the late show of “Potter” in Columbus. I was driving home by myself at about 1:30 a.m…I used to romance that hour of the night, but seeing as how I’m no longer in college, 1:30 a.m. and I really haven’t seen each other much lately. So, to keep myself awake, I do what I usually do — listen to very loud music.
And what kept me awake? Why, these darling songs. I daresay they saved my life.
Here’s what I listened to:
“Mary Jane’s Last Dance” by Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
“Never Let Me Go” by Family Force 5
“Rag & Bone” by the White Stripes
“Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” by Frankie Valli
“A Little Less ‘Sixteen Candles,’ A Little More ‘Touch Me'” by Fall Out Boy
“I Ran (So Far Away)” by A Flock of Seagulls
“Goodbye Earl” by the Dixie Chicks
“Pain” by Four Star Mary (in case you’re not a ‘Buffy’ addict: the music of Oz’s band, Dingoes Ate My Baby, was actually played by Four Star Mary. Listening to their songs makes me feel a little closer to my favorite show, so yes, I rocked out to Dingoes Ate…I mean, Four Star Mary:))
“Bus Stop” by the Hollies

Leave a Reply

